Guide · Electric vehicles
Getting an EV charger at home — the decision, in the order you actually face it
Six questions in sequence, from whether you have the capacity to who is allowed to do the work. The amperage question is the one nearly every guide gets backwards.
Written by HyreElectrical Research Desk Primary-source research and fact checking
The short answer
Home Level 2 charging is one dedicated 240-volt circuit, a listed charging device, a permit and an inspection — installed by a licensed electrician. Under the model National Electrical Code, EV charging is a continuous load, so the circuit is sized at 125% of the charger’s current: a 40-amp charger needs a 50-amp circuit, a 48-amp charger a 60-amp one. That multiplier, not the price of the wall unit, decides whether your existing service can take the job.
Which is why amperage comes before shopping. HyreElectrical calculated the overnight arithmetic from two federal driving figures and the EPA’s published efficiency range: replacing a 50-mile driving day takes 1 h 57 m on a 32-amp circuit at worst and 1 h 00 m on a 48-amp circuit at best — about 57 minutes apart, inside a night ten hours long. The 48-amp charger is the one that most often triggers a service upgrade.
Where you must stop: everything from the load calculation onward, and anything behind the dead-front cover, is a licensed electrician’s work, under permit. HyreElectrical does not perform, supervise or warrant electrical work.
The stop-point, stated first rather than last
What a homeowner can safely do: read the amperage on the main breaker and the maker on the panel door, inner cover untouched; work out real daily mileage; read the car’s charge-port type; ring the permit office; read a quote critically. When you need an electrical permit covers what that office is being asked, and the two named jurisdictions where a permit does not mean an inspection.
Where it stops, without exception: the dead-front cover — the inner metal plate behind the panel door — stays on. The bus bars behind it remain energised with the main breaker off. Nothing here asks you to remove it, land a conductor, pull a circuit or fit a receptacle. A 240-volt continuous-load circuit is licensed, permitted, inspected work.
The six questions, in the order they actually arrive
Most guides open with charger reviews. That is the last decision, not the first, and taking it first produces a wall unit the house cannot feed.
- 1 Do I have the electrical capacity?
Two things fail independently: spare amps (does calculated demand leave room for a continuous 240-volt load) and spare spaces (are two adjacent positions free for a two-pole breaker).
- 2 How do I find out, without opening anything?
A licensed electrician runs a load calculation against your jurisdiction’s adopted NEC edition. Ask to see it, ask which edition, and ask by how much it passes or fails.
- 3 Is load management cheaper than a service upgrade?
The model code lets a listed energy management system set the calculated load, which can add a charger without a larger service — see load management.
- 4 Hardwired or plug-in?
Same circuit, same permit. 48 amps is hardwired, because the receptacle usually proposed is a 50-amp device with a 40-amp continuous ceiling.
- 5 How many amps do I actually need?
Your daily miles and the hours the car sits parked decide it — not pack size, not headline kilowatts. The calculation is below.
- 6 Who does the work, and who pulls the permit?
A licensed electrician — the one who will face the inspector.
Why a 40-amp charger needs a 50-amp circuit
Source fact. Article 625 of the model National Electrical Code (NFPA 70) settles sizing by classification. In the 2023 edition’s 625.42: “The EVSE shall have sufficient rating to supply the load served. Electric vehicle charging loads shall be considered to be continuous loads for the purposes of this article.” A continuous load runs at maximum for three hours or more, and the Code sizes its branch circuit and overcurrent device at not less than 125% of that load — equivalently, no more than 80% of the circuit rating. So 32 amps is a 40-amp circuit, 40 amps a 50-amp circuit, 48 amps a 60-amp circuit.
“Just buy the bigger one” is therefore not a free upgrade: it is twenty extra amps of circuit the service calculation must find room for. How this meets the Article 220 calculation — the 2023 edition’s 7,200 VA floor, and the inspector disagreement over the optional dwelling method — is on the installation page. A garage dryer outlet is a dryer circuit, permitted for a cyclic load: reusing it is a redesign under permit.
The jurisdiction caveat that applies to every code sentence on this site. NFPA 70 has force only where a state or municipality has adopted it, and adoption lags by years. Confirm the adopted edition locally; the NEC edition lookup is a starting point, not an authority.
How many amps you actually need: the arithmetic nobody publishes
Every consumer guide frames amperage as speed, and speed as better. That is only correct if the constraint is time. Overnight it is not — and we can show by how much.
Source facts. The 2022 National Household Travel Survey puts average daily VMT per household at 39.70 miles on network-calculated distance (Table 2-8), down from 48.81 in 2017, at 1.83 vehicles per household. DOE Fact of the Week #1332 (4 March 2024) reads the same survey for the vehicle that does the driving: in a one-vehicle household “the average daily mileage is about 50 miles”, and the second vehicle in a multi-vehicle household covers under 60% of what the first does — so 50 miles is the demanding case. On the EPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov 2026 all-electric list, combined consumption runs from 23 kWh per 100 miles (Lucid Air Pure RWD, 19-inch wheels) to 30 kWh per 100 miles for crossovers including the Hyundai Ioniq 5 RWD, Kia EV6 Long Range RWD and Volkswagen ID.4; DOE’s AFDC worked example uses 27.
HyreElectrical calculation. Charger current × 240 V gives power; dividing by consumption gives miles added per hour; a day’s driving energy divided by that power gives hours on the plug. Across all three circuits and both ends of the efficiency range, every combination replaces a 50-mile day in under two hours — slowest (32 amps, least efficient EV sold) 1 h 57 m, fastest (48 amps, most efficient) 1 h 00 m.
HYRE analysis. The whole amperage decision is worth roughly 57 minutes on a night with eight or more spare hours in it, bought back while the household is asleep. That inverts the default: the burden of proof belongs on the larger circuit.
Miles added per hour, and hours to refill a day
| Circuit | Power | Miles/hr — thirstiest EV | Miles/hr — DOE example | Miles/hr — most efficient | Refill 39.7 mi (household day) | Refill 50 mi (one-car day) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 32 A on a 40 A circuit | 7.68 kW | 25.6 | 28.4 | 33.4 | 1 h 11 m – 1 h 33 m | 1 h 30 m – 1 h 57 m |
| 40 A on a 50 A circuit | 9.60 kW | 32.0 | 35.6 | 41.7 | 0 h 57 m – 1 h 14 m | 1 h 12 m – 1 h 34 m |
| 48 A on a 60 A circuit | 11.52 kW | 38.4 | 42.7 | 50.1 | 0 h 48 m – 1 h 02 m | 1 h 00 m – 1 h 18 m |
HyreElectrical calculation, 6 September 2026. Refill columns span 23 to 30 kWh/100 mi; daily distances are 2022 NHTS Table 2-8 and DOE Fact of the Week #1332.
Read the last two columns against the hours your car is genuinely parked. A car home from 7 pm to 7 am has twelve; every figure there is under two.
When a bigger circuit genuinely is the right answer
- Two EVs sharing one charger, or a plug-in window you cannot rely on
Two vehicles halve the overnight window the arithmetic assumes; intermittent charging means refilling several days at once. The strongest legitimate cases.
- Genuinely long daily distances, sustained
At DOE’s example consumption a 100-mile day takes about 3 h 30 m on a 32-amp circuit — inside a night, but with little margin. An occasional long trip is not this case.
- The service already has the room and the run is short
Then the heavier circuit costs conductor and breaker, not a redesign.
- Buying 48 amps and then paying for a service upgrade to feed it
If the calculation fails at 48 amps and passes at 32, you are spending thousands on panel and service work to save 57 minutes on a night you sleep through. Get it at both currents and the load-management option priced alongside.
- Sizing from the battery pack rather than from the driving
A 100 kWh pack driven 40 miles a day needs the same nightly energy as a 60 kWh pack driven 40 miles. The onboard charger is the other ceiling: one that accepts 32 amps gains nothing from a 48-amp circuit.
The connector question: J1772, J3400 (NACS), and why it does not touch your circuit
Source fact. The federal Joint Office of Energy and Transportation records that SAE published the J3400 Technical Information Report in December 2023; that in August 2024 the SAE EV Coupler Task Force voted to establish J3400 as a Recommended Practice; and that J3400/1 (adapters) followed in April 2025 and J3400/2 (connectors and inlets) in May 2025. J3400 is the standardised form of the connector Tesla released as NACS, and the Joint Office states it “can also be used for AC Level 1 and Level 2 charging and is compatible with the J1772 connector for these charging speeds through an adapter.”
Genuinely mid-transition, and we will not pretend otherwise. DOE’s own AFDC page still describes J3400 as “currently only Tesla vehicles”, which no longer matches what is on sale — we note the discrepancy rather than resolve it. Check your vehicle’s inlet with its manufacturer.
HYRE analysis. None of this reaches your electrician. The connector is a property of the cable and the car’s inlet; the circuit is a property of the current the equipment draws. A 40-amp charger is a 50-amp circuit whether the cable ends in a J1772 or a J3400 head. One trap: AC and DC adapters are not interchangeable — Hyundai’s owner FAQ states that “the L3 CCS adapter cannot be used with AC level 2 or level 1 J1772 inlets (as in home chargers)”, precisely what J3400/1 was published to address.
The question before amperage: do you need Level 2 at all?
Level 1 — 120 V, no new circuit in many cases
DOE’s AFDC describes Level 1 as a 120-volt AC plug at about 1.9 kW delivering “approximately 5 miles of range per 1 hour of charging”, and states that “many EV owners are able to meet their daily driving range requirements by charging overnight with Level 1 equipment, requiring no additional cost or installation”.
Over a twelve-hour night that is roughly 60 miles — more than the 39.7-mile household day. HYRE analysis: for a second vehicle that parks every night, Level 1 is frequently sufficient. The caveat: AFDC’s condition is a dedicated branch circuit near the parking space, and making one dedicated is still electrician’s work.
Level 2 — 240 V, a new dedicated circuit
AFDC puts residential Level 2 at 240 volts, notes that “most residential Level 2 chargers operate at up to 30 Amps, delivering 7.2 kW”, and gives a planning rate of “approximately 25 miles of range per 1 hour”.
Recommendation. Work out your real daily miles from a month of odometer readings, not your longest week. The charger selector takes miles and available hours and returns the level, deliberately without naming a product.
The permit is the part that protects you
Source fact. DOE’s AFDC states that “charging equipment installations must comply with local and state codes and regulations” and that “appropriate permits may be required from the local building and permitting authorities”, that a contractor “should … obtain a permit from the local building authorities before installing charging infrastructure”, and that the process “could require a site installation plan and approval from fire, environmental, or electrical inspection entities”.
What the inspection buys you. A continuous 240-volt load on an undersized conductor does not fail loudly on the first night; it runs warm for years. Unpermitted work surfaces at resale and in a claim after a fire — where the exposure sits with the owner, not the installer. Recommendation: the electrician who will face the inspector should pull the permit, with their licence number on the bid. Fees, inspection counts and turnaround are municipal facts — AFDC notes that states, municipalities and utilities publish their own streamlining guides. Ring your own office.
What to have ready before the first call, and what to ask on it
None of this requires you to open anything.
- Your real daily mileage, from the odometer
A month of readings divided by the days — not your commute, not your worst week.
- The main breaker rating, read from the closed panel
The number on the main breaker handle — 100, 125, 150, 200 — is visible with the inner cover untouched. If you cannot see it without removing something, leave it.
- Where the car parks, and your vehicle’s inlet type
Rough feet from the panel; a detached building is often a feeder. J1772 or J3400, from the owner’s manual.
- Ask: may I see the load calculation, and which NEC edition did it use?
Ask also whether it was run at both 32 A and 48 A, and whether load management was priced.
- A quote with no run length, no breaker class and no permit line
“EV charger install — $1,895” is not a scope. Itemisation is on the installation page.
Method, and the assumption most likely to be wrong
Calculation. Power = charger amperes × 240 V ÷ 1000. Miles per hour = power ÷ (kWh per 100 miles ÷ 100). Hours to replace a day = (daily miles × kWh per 100 miles ÷ 100) ÷ power. Circuit rating = charger amperes × 1.25, rounded up to the next common breaker size. Inputs: 2022 NHTS Table 2-8 (39.70 miles); DOE Fact of the Week #1332, 4 March 2024 (about 50 miles, one-vehicle household); the EPA/DOE fueleconomy.gov 2026 all-electric list, 23–30 kWh per 100 miles, AFDC’s 27 as midpoint; 240 V nominal per AFDC. All retrieved 6 September 2026.
The assumption most likely to be wrong, and it is load-bearing. This treats the EPA kWh-per-100-miles label figure as energy measured at the wall, including charging losses. EPA’s consumer explainer does not state whether those losses are inside the number, and we could not confirm it from a primary source. If they are not, every hour figure here is roughly 10% optimistic — the 32-amp worst case moves from 1 h 57 m to about 2 h 09 m. The conclusion holds, because it depends on the gap between circuits rather than their absolute times.
The validity check, including where it fails. At DOE’s stated Level 2 conditions — 7.2 kW at 27 kWh per 100 miles — our method returns 26.7 miles per hour against AFDC’s planning rate of about 25: roughly 7% optimistic. At Level 1 it does not hold: AFDC states 1.9 kW and about 5 miles per hour, our method returns 7.0, and it only reproduces 5 mi/hr at about 1.44 kW. HYRE analysis: most likely AFDC’s Level 1 rate reflects a derated draw and the larger conversion losses of slow AC charging, neither of which we model. For a conservative figure, discount the Level 2 numbers by roughly 10%.
Limitations. Not a load calculation and not a design; it answers only how long the plug is occupied. Cold weather cuts real efficiency substantially and is not modelled. Charging tapers near full. The onboard charger may be the binding limit. Both daily-distance figures are national averages, and the 2022 survey period still carries post-pandemic effects the report itself flags. 240 volts is nominal.
Questions
How many amps do I need for a home EV charger?
Why does a 40-amp charger need a 50-amp circuit?
Can I install a Level 2 EV charger myself?
Written and audited by
HyreElectrical Research Desk
Primary-source research and fact checking
We read the model code, the federal safety notice, the municipal fee sheet or the utility tariff ourselves, and we publish the figure with the document it came from and the date we retrieved it. Where a number cannot be traced to a primary source, we publish the shorter page and say what we could not verify. HyreElectrical does not perform, supervise or warrant electrical work. Authorship is organisational: this desk, not a named persona.
- 10
- long-form launch pages in this layout
- 5
- states with verified licence records
- 16,369
- electrical companies in those records
- 74%
- of the store is Florida — disclosed first, not footnoted
How this desk works
- Primary sources only. Code statements come from NFPA 70 as the model code. Safety statements come from CPSC. Permit fees come from the city or county fee sheet. Utility charges come from the filed tariff. We do not cite a blog that cites a source; we open the source.
- Our contractor store is five states, and 74% of it is Florida. Any figure built on that store is titled to those states and names the concentration in the first screen. It is not a national sample of electricians.
- Load calculations on this site are a published simplification in the shape of NEC 220.82 — first 10 kVA at 100%, remainder at 40%, HVAC at 100%, EVSE at 125%. They are labelled as not a stamped calculation. A licensed electrician using the adopted edition does that work.
- No national price for a panel upgrade is shipped. Labour rates, the adopted code edition, whether the utility is involved, and the state of the existing wiring move the invoice too far for a roundup to help. Cost intent lives on the cost page; this page explains the decision.
- We do not perform electrical work, and we take no payment for placement, ranking or a favourable mention. Nobody buys a position on this site.
Data as of 6 September 2026. Authorship on this site is organisational: the analysis belongs to the desk rather than to a named individual, and we do not publish credentials we do not hold. Our editorial policy sets out how we source, date and correct what we publish.
Sources & retrieval dates
- US DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Electric Vehicle Charging Stations , Level 1 at 120 V and 1.9 kW, approximately 5 miles of range per hour, SAE J1772 connector. Level 2 at 240 V residential, 40 to 80 amperes, most residential units up to 30 A delivering 7.2 kW, approximately 25 miles of range per hour, 2.9 to 19.2 kW range. J1772 and J3400 connector descriptions. Retrieved 6 September 2026.
- US DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Charging Electric Vehicles at Home , That many EV owners meet daily driving range requirements charging overnight on Level 1 with no additional cost or installation; the dedicated branch circuit condition; the recommendation to use a certified electrical contractor; that installations must comply with local and state codes and that permits may be required. The 27 kWh per 100 miles worked example. Retrieved 6 September 2026.
- US DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center — Procurement and Installation for EV Charging Infrastructure , That an electrical contractor should obtain a permit from the local building authorities before installing charging infrastructure, and that the process could require a site installation plan and approval from fire, environmental or electrical inspection entities. Retrieved 6 September 2026.
- Joint Office of Energy and Transportation — SAE J3400 Charging Connector , SAE published the J3400 Technical Information Report in December 2023; in August 2024 the SAE EV Coupler Task Force voted to establish J3400 as a Recommended Practice. That J3400 “can also be used for AC Level 1 and Level 2 charging and is compatible with the J1772 connector for these charging speeds through an adapter.” Retrieved 6 September 2026.
- US FHWA / ORNL — Summary of Travel Trends: 2022 National Household Travel Survey , Table 2-8, average daily VMT per household on network-calculated distance: 39.70 in 2022, against 48.81 in 2017. Table 2-6, vehicles per household 1.83. The report’s own note that 2022 stands alone in the size of its decline. Retrieved 6 September 2026.
- US DOE Vehicle Technologies Office — Fact of the Week #1332, 4 March 2024 , From the 2022 NextGen NHTS: in a one-vehicle household the average daily mileage is about 50 miles; the second vehicle in a multi-vehicle household covers less than 60% of what the first does. Retrieved 6 September 2026.
- US EPA and US DOE — fueleconomy.gov, 2026 model-year all-electric vehicles , Combined consumption from 23 kWh per 100 miles (Lucid Air Pure RWD, 19-inch wheels) to 30 kWh per 100 miles (including Hyundai Ioniq 5 RWD, Kia EV6 Long Range RWD and Volkswagen ID.4). Used as the efficiency range in the calculation. Retrieved 6 September 2026.
- US EPA and US DOE — fueleconomy.gov, understanding the electric vehicle label , Consulted to establish whether the kWh per 100 miles figure is measured at the wall and therefore includes charging losses. The page does not state it either way, which is recorded on this page as the assumption most likely to be wrong. Retrieved 6 September 2026.
- NFPA 70 (National Electrical Code) Article 625 — 625.42, 2023 edition, as reprinted by Electrical License Renewal , “The EVSE shall have sufficient rating to supply the load served. Electric vehicle charging loads shall be considered to be continuous loads for the purposes of this article.” And 625.42(A): where an energy management system in accordance with 750.30 provides load management of EVSE, the maximum equipment load on a service and feeder is the maximum load permitted by that system. Retrieved 6 September 2026.
- Hyundai Motor America — NACS adapter FAQs, owner resources , That Level 2 AC typically operates at 240 V delivering 3 to 19 kW, and the direct statement that “the L3 CCS adapter cannot be used with AC level 2 or level 1 J1772 inlets (as in home chargers)” — the AC-versus-DC adapter distinction. Retrieved 6 September 2026.
Ready to get the load calculation done?
The next step is a licensed electrician who will run the calculation against your jurisdiction’s adopted code edition and pull the permit. Tell us where the house is and where the car parks, and we will connect you with licensed electrical companies in your area. We do not perform the work and we take no payment for placement.
HyreElectrical does not perform, supervise or warrant electrical work, and takes no payment for placement, ranking or favourable mention. This is general information, not advice on a specific property, and nothing here substitutes for a load calculation by a licensed electrician working from your jurisdiction’s adopted code edition. The charging times are a HyreElectrical calculation from federal data, with the method and its weakest assumption stated above. We have no commercial relationship with any manufacturer or standards body named on this page.